What is industrial heritage? Why should we research and conserve it?

What would you think of when talking about industrial heritage? Rows of vacant factories or abandoned rail tracks and bridges? Perhaps you may think that industrial heritage is usually found in some early industrialised countries in Europe and America and it has less to do with Hong Kong, a city that is now firmly developed on the service industry such as finance, trade and tourism.

 

Even when remarking on Hong Kong’s industrialisation, people tend to speak more about the city’s rising textile industry in the post-war era. Yet have you ever realised that there were a couple of operating mines in the first half of the 20th century? The MOS Iron Mine is one of them and was the only well-developed iron mine in Hong Kong. Its history of extraction and operation stretched over half century and its ownership had been changed in different hands several times before its production reached the peak in the late 1960s, when the mine shipped nearly 200,000 tons of iron ores to Japan in a year!

 

Today, there are still many structures and remains left at the site, including the underground tunnels and the settlements, where thousands of miners sweated and suffered, weaving together many unforgettable stories of their works and lives. As the understanding of “industrial heritage” continues to evolve in the past decades, many people have come to realise and argue that industrial heritage should not be limited to only structures and mechanical equipment in association with industrial activities. The MOS Iron Mine has a rich and peculiar culture and community composition in history.

From 1950s to 1970s, the mining village could be described as a truly “global village”, with “villagers” coming from all over the world. There were miners who were refugees from various provinces of China, a Belgian father and several Western nuns retreating also from Mainland China and technicians from different regions of Japan. Facing unprecedented global changes and for different reasons, they all ended up at MOS, co-writing a chapter of local history that is different from what is known to the general public.

 

These unorthodox stories of Hong Kong’s industrial development, now engraved in the abandoned structures and remains of the mine, deserve our in-depth investigation and appreciation because it is not mainstream and less known.

The ongoing process of globalisation and economic restructuring had already led to de-industrialisation and rationalization of industries in some developed countries by the mid-20th century. Industrial buildings and structures were left vacant. In some cases, they were demolished and replaced by some new industries due to competition for land uses.

 

However, we cannot neglect the lasting influence of the industrial revolution and industrial processes on the development of human society. These buildings and structures are important evidence and assets for us to understand not only to the interrelated socio-economic and technological histories but also contemporary social development. The threats of having these structures with embedded human history being removed have forced people to consider how we can conserve and revitalise these industrial heritage sites.

Not only are industrial structures and technologies in threat. So are the collective memories of workers and industrial communities, their identity and culture. The fields of industrial archaeology and industrial heritage conservation developed since the mid-20th century have emphasised both material and technology heritage as well as intangible heritage such as community culture and social connections in industrial society. In addition, industrial activities from the supply of raw materials, production to export often involved interregional production-supply chains, accompanied by urbanisation and population migration, involving interrelated socio-economic activities in a much wider geographical realm.

 

Therefore, through studying and conserving industrial heritage, not only can we understand more about local industrial, technological, economic and social development but more importantly, we can also save conserve these precious community memories and disappearing industrial culture and tradition. These heritages can enrich our knowledge of the historical development of the entire region.

 

This research is sponsored by HKSAR government’s “Built Heritage Conservation Fund”, aiming at exploring the value and conservation strategy of historic architecture with a “point-line-plane” approach.

 

The P-L-P approach in this study is inspired by The Dublin Principles. In order to capture the evolving and full cultural values of P-L-P of a heritage site, the significance and conservation values of individual historic industrial buildings and its immediate natural and built environment need to be understood and established in connection to the evolving socio-economic and technological developments at different geographical scales over time.

The 2016 Policy Address announced the setting up of the Built Heritage Conservation Fund with $500 million earmarked to implement the recommendations of the Antiquities Advisory Board pursuant to its policy review on the conservation of built heritage. The Built Heritage Conservation Fund was established in 2016 to provide subsidies for public education, community involvement and publicity activities, and academic research apart from covering certain existing government initiatives and activities on built heritage conservation including the Revitalising Historic Buildings Through Partnership Scheme and the Financial Assistance for Maintenance Scheme.

 

In 2017, two new funding schemes for public engagement projects and thematic research were launched under the Fund. This research project is under “Funding Scheme for Thematic Research on Built Heritage Conservation”.

 

This research is titled “A multi-dimensional “point-line-plane” approach for industrial heritage conservation in Hong Kong: A case study of Ma On Shan (MOS) Iron Mine”. As a Built Heritage Conservation Fund project under one of its priority research areas that focuses on the conservation of clusters of historic agricultural/industrial buildings and structures in Hong Kong, this research has chosen the MOS Iron Mine, which is close to the Chinese University of Hong Kong, as a case study.

 

The research team comprises members from different disciplinary background, including urban planning, population and economic geography, architecture, cultural studies, social works etc. and employs the internationally recognised 2011 Joint ICOMOS-TICCIH Principles for the Conservation of Industrial Heritage Sites, Structures, Areas and Landscapes (The Dublin Principles) to explore the significance of the MOS Iron Mine and the challenges and opportunities involved in conserving the site with a “point-line-plane” approach as advocated in The Dublin Principles.

 

From late 1990s, various organisations have been making contributions to conserving the MOS Iron Mine. Based on the legacy of Order of Friars Minor (OFM), the MOS St. Joseph's Secondary School (MOSSJSS) developed a school-based curriculum “Cyber Saddle” to encourage the younger generations to investigate the history embedded in the built and natural environment in the MOS Iron Mine. The MOS Promotion of Livelihood and Recreation Association (MOSPLRA), a local charitable institution, made substantial contributions since the early 2000s by publishing various research reports and edited books to document and communicate the story of the MOS Iron Mine to the wider public. The Evangelical Lutheran Church of Hong Kong (ELCHK), the religious organisation rooted in MOS since the 1950s, started in 2012 to revitalise the Yan Kwong Church Complex, converting it into an education-cum-heritage centre for the MOS Iron Mine named “Grace Youth Camp (On Shan Exploration Museum)”. Their campaigns highlight the intangible industrial, natural, cultural and religious heritages of the MOS Iron Mine landscape.

As of 2016, most of the relics related to the MOS Iron Mine have been graded by the Antiquities Advisory Board. However, despite grading efforts, the structures are not statutorily protected, not to mention the handling of the values of the MOS Iron Mine landscape.

 

In 2017, ELCHK successfully applied for the "Financial Assistance for Maintenance Scheme on Built Heritage" by The Commissioner for Heritage's Office. As the financial scheme is for renovating individual buildings and not the whole landscape, conservation of the MOS Iron Mine still has a long way to go.

 

Through collaboration with the above organisations and based on their research findings, we undertook a comprehensive investigation of the economic, technological, social and cultural histories of the MOS Iron Mine, integrating its tangible and intangible heritage to elucidate the formation and significance of this unique industrial heritage. This chapter of post-war development and industrialisation is little known to the citizens of Asia’s world city.

Multi-dimensional “Point-Line-Plane”

It is stated in The Dublin Principles that “Industrial heritage illustrates important aspects of local, national and international history and interactions over time and cultures.”

 

The P-L-P approach in this study is inspired by The Dublin Principles. In order to capture the evolving and full cultural values of P-L-P of a heritage site, the significance and conservation values of individual historic industrial buildings and its immediate natural and built environment need to be understood and established in connection to the evolving socio-economic and technological developments at different geographical scales over time.

“The Dublin Principles”

The Dublin Principles, as developed and released jointly by ICOMOS and TICCIH, is the most acknowledged guiding document for practising industrial heritage conservation. The Principles were adopted by the 17th ICOMOS General Assembly on 28 November 2011, and states that industrial heritage “reflects the profound connection between the cultural and natural environment”, consists of both tangible and intangible dimensions, and its cultural legacy “shaped the life of communities and brought major organisational changes to entire societies and the world in general.” The multi-dimensional definition mentioned in this document stimulates us to adopt the “point-line-plane” approach to research on MOS’s industrial heritage.

 

For the full document, please click here to access the webpage of TICCIH.

Research Team

首席研究員Principle Investigator
伍美琴教授 Prof. NG, Mee Kam

合作研究員 ( 按姓氏字母順序排列) Co-Investigators (in alphabetical order according to the surname)
李慧瑩博士 Dr. LEE, Joanna Wai Ying
李倞助理教授 Prof. LI, Victor Jing
毛家謙博士 Dr. MO, Kar Him
沈建法教授 Prof. SHEN, Jianfa
田恒德副教授 Prof. TIEBEN, Hendrik
胡嘉明副教授 Prof. WU, Ka-ming

項目顧問 ( 按合作關係確定時間排序) Project Advisers (in chronological order according to the date of engagement)
馬鞍山民康促進會 Ma On Shan Promotion of Livelihood and Recreation Association (MOSPLRA):
  楊祥利先生 ( 總幹事) Mr. YEUNG, Cheung Li (CEO)
基督教香港信義會鞍山探索館 The Evangelical Lutheran Church of Hong Kong Grace Youth Camp (ELCHK-GYC):
  樊文韜先生 ( 項目經理) Mr. FAN, Frankie Man Tao (Coordinator)
  陳子恒先生 ( 館長) and Mr. CHAN, Ric Tsz Hang (Curator)
方濟會 The Order of Friars Minor (OFM):
  伍維烈修士 Brother NG, William Wei Lit
周慧泉教授 Prof. ZHOU, Mary Huiquan
Prof. Ian Morley
Prof. Jeremy Yellen

研究員( 按姓氏字母順序排列) Researchers (in alphabetical order according to the surname)
陳慧瑋博士 Dr. CHEN, Huiwei
盧思宇小姐 Ms. LO, Danas Sze Yu
楊子雋先生 Mr. YEUNG, Tsz Chun
竺佳庚先生 Mr. ZHU, Jiageng


設計師 Designer
楊子雋先生 Mr. YEUNG, Tsz Chun

此項目由保育歷史建築基金資助

This project is funded by the Built Heritage Conservation Fund

©2020 by Institute of Future Cities, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

甚麽是工業遺產?爲甚麽要研究和保育工業遺產?

提到工業遺產,你最先想到什麼?大片閒置的工廠廠房,還是廢棄的軌道橋樑?也可能你覺得工業遺產大多見於工業發展較早的歐美國家,與如今以金融、貿易、旅遊等服務業為主要產業的香港無甚關聯?

 

在香港,廣為人知的工業化發展可能要數戰後紡織製造業的興起,但你是否知道,其實早在二十世紀前半葉,香港就有多個較大規模的礦場蓬勃發展起來?馬鞍山鐵礦場就是當中唯一的一個鐵礦場,其開採和運作歷史超過半個世紀,幾經轉手,在鼎盛時期年產近二十萬噸的磁鐵礦出口日本!

 

如今馬鞍山仍遺留著包括礦洞和礦村聚落在內的多處珍貴歷史遺跡,記錄了礦工和馬鞍山社群在鐵礦場內奮鬥的生活剪影,當中有著辛酸但令人難以忘懷的經歷和回憶。隨著「工業遺產」概念在這幾十年來的發展,人們開始意識到工業遺產並不僅僅侷限於建造物和大型機械設備,馬鞍山鐵礦場在歷史上更有著獨特且豐富的社區構成和文化特色。

戰後五十年代至七十年代的馬鞍山礦村可謂一個真正的「地球村」,村民有來自大陸各省份的難民、同樣自大陸撤退的比利時神父和異國修女,以及來自日本不同地方的技師。他們在當時前所未有的全球局勢變化下,出於不同的原因來到馬鞍山,編織出一段段本土但鮮為人知的香港歷史。

這段獨特的香港工業發展史,映刻在如今已廢棄的礦場遺跡和現存的聚落中,正因為這段歷史「不為人熟知」和「不那麼主流」,更值得我們去研究和珍惜。

 

隨著持續的全球化進程和產業結構的轉型,不少較早完成工業化的國家在二十世紀中葉已經開始面臨「去工業化」或「產業合理化」等等的挑戰。工業構築物因停產或產業轉移而遭到廢棄,或因遷就新興產業的用地需求而被迫清拆重建。

 

工業革命和工業化進程為現代生活帶來深遠的影響,是人類社會發展的一個重要階段,遺留下來的構築物和與其息息相關的經濟、技術和社會歷史,更是幫助我們了解當今社會進程的重要依據和寶貴資產。承載人類工業化歷史以及工業革新技術的構築物所面臨的威脅,促使人們開始思考該如何保留並活化再利用這些工業遺產。

 

面臨威脅的不只是工業構築物和相關的技術,同時還有從事工業活動的工人和工業社區的集體回憶、身份認同及文化。自上世紀中葉不斷發展的「工業考古學」和「工業遺產保育」,除了強調物質和技術遺產的重要性,亦重視工業社會中彰顯的人際交流和社區文化等非物質遺產。另外,工業活動從原料、加工生產到輸出,其過程伴隨著城市化過程和勞動人口的遷移,往往形成跨地域的生產供應鏈,涉及在更廣泛地域進行且相互關聯的社經活動。

 

因此,通過研究和保育工業遺產,我們不僅可以了解本地的工業、技術、經濟和社會發展,更重要的是能保存珍貴的社區記憶及逐漸消逝的工業和傳統文化。這些遺產將增進一般公眾對整個區域歷史發展的認識。

 

是次馬鞍山鐵礦場工業遺產保育的研究由政府「保育歷史建築基金」資助,旨在以「點、線、面」理念探討歷史建築的價值和保育政策。

 

本研究中的「點、線、面」理念受「都柏林準則」啟發。為了充分挖掘遺址中在「點、線、面」理念下不斷演化的文化價值,我們需要先理解單棟歷史建築物及其所在的自然和建築環境的重要性和保育價值,然後再將之與在不同時空及不同地理範圍中演化的社經和技術發展聯繫起來。

在2016年的施政報告中,香港政府公佈將預留五億元成立保育歷史建築基金,以落實古物諮詢委員會檢討歷史建築保育政策後所提出的建議。保育歷史建築基金於2016年成立,除涵蓋政府現有的歷史建築保育措施和活動(包括「活化歷史建築夥伴計劃」和「維修資助計劃」)外,亦為公眾教育、社區參與及宣傳活動和學術研究提供資助。

 

該基金在2017年推出「公眾參與項目」及「主題研究」兩項針對保育歷史建築的嶄新資助計劃。本研究由「資助計劃:以保育歷史建築為主題的研究」支持。

 

本研究題為「以多維度『點、線、面』理念保育香港工業遺產:馬鞍山鐵礦場案例研究」。「香港與農業/工業生產相關的歷史建築群」作為保育歷史建築資金「資助計劃:以保育歷史建築為主題的研究」中一個位列優先範疇的研究項目,本研究隸屬其中,研究團隊選了臨近香港中文大學的馬鞍山鐵礦場作為研究案例。

 

研究團隊由來自不同學科背景的學者組成,涵蓋都市規劃、人口和經濟地理、建築、文化研究、社會工作等專業。本研究應用世界兩大工業遺產保育權威(國際古跡遺址理事會及國際工業遺產保護委員會)所提倡的「都柏林準則」,以多維度「點、線、面」理念來探討馬鞍山鐵礦場的重要性及保育鐵礦場所面臨的挑戰和機遇。

 

自九十年代後期開始,不同的機構和民間團體開始投身馬鞍山鐵礦場的保育工作當中。為了傳承天主教方濟會與馬鞍山鐵礦場的連結,馬鞍山聖若瑟中學設計了「社區研究計劃——馬鞍山網上行」等校本課程,讓年輕一代實地考察及研究當區歷史。馬鞍山民康促進會自2000年起陸續發表《馬鞍山風物誌》系列等出版物和研究報告,提倡修建香港礦山公園。而自五十年代起便紮根於馬鞍山的基督教香港信義會(信義會),於2012年開始復修恩光堂建築群,將其改建為「鞍山探索館」,強調馬鞍山鐵礦場的保育價值並不限於工業遺產一項,還有其他文化、宗教和自然遺產有待發掘。

到了2016年,大多數與馬鞍山鐵礦場有關的遺跡已由古物諮詢委員會進行評級。然而,儘管評級工作已完成,這些遺跡並未受到法律保護。由於保育政策受到限制,整個馬鞍山鐵礦場地景的價值也未有進一步處理。

 

2017年,信義會成功申請政府文物保育專員辦事處推出的「歷史建築維修資助計劃」,但是礙於項目只可維修個別建築物,未能顧及整個馬鞍山地景,馬鞍山鐵礦場及其聚落的保育工作仍有待跟進。

本研究將在這些研究成果的基礎上,通過與相關團體、組織的緊密合作,整合並深入研究馬鞍山鐵礦場的經濟、技術、社會和文化歷史,並結合採礦業在發展過程中遺留下來的物質和非物質遺產,全面闡述這一獨特工業遺產形成的過程和重要性,向一般公眾展現香港這座國際金融城市在戰後發展和工業化過程中鮮為人知的一面。

多維度「點、線、面」

「都柏林準則」指出「工業遺產顯示了隨著時間的流逝,國際、國內以及地方歷史和交流互動等重要資訊。」

 

本研究的「點、線、面」理念受「都柏林準則」啟發。為了充分挖掘遺址中在「點、線、面」理念下不斷演化的文化價值,我們需要先理解單棟歷史建築物及其所在的自然和建築環境的重要性和保育價值,然後再將之與在不同時空及不同地理範圍中演化的社經和技術發展聯繫起來。

「都柏林準則」

「都柏林準則」(以下簡稱「準則」)是由國際文化紀念物暨歷史場所委員會(ICOMOS)和國際工業遺產保護委員會(TICCIH)共同制定的聯合準則,與工業遺產、構築物、區域和景觀保護有關。該準則於2011年11月28日在第17屆國際文化紀念物暨歷史場所委員會全體大會上通過之後,成爲工業遺產保護領域中極具影響力的權威性指引文件。準則中明確指出工業遺產「反映了文化和自然環境之間的深刻聯繫」,同時包含有形和無形的遺產,而「這些文化財富塑造了社群生活,給整個社會和全世界帶來了結構性改變」。正是該準則提及的工業遺產含義,促使我們以多維度的「點、線、面」理念來研究馬鞍山鐵礦場的工業遺產。

 

想瀏覽「都柏林準則」全文(中文版),請按此前往國際工業遺產保護委員會的網頁。

首席研究員Principle Investigator
伍美琴教授 Prof. NG, Mee Kam

合作研究員 ( 按姓氏字母順序排列) Co-Investigators (in alphabetical order according to the surname)
李慧瑩博士 Dr. LEE, Joanna Wai Ying
李倞助理教授 Prof. LI, Victor Jing
毛家謙博士 Dr. MO, Kar Him
沈建法教授 Prof. SHEN, Jianfa
田恒德副教授 Prof. TIEBEN, Hendrik
胡嘉明副教授 Prof. WU, Ka-ming

項目顧問 ( 按合作關係確定時間排序) Project Advisers (in chronological order according to the date of engagement)
馬鞍山民康促進會 Ma On Shan Promotion of Livelihood and Recreation Association (MOSPLRA):
  楊祥利先生 ( 總幹事) Mr. YEUNG, Cheung Li (CEO)
基督教香港信義會鞍山探索館 The Evangelical Lutheran Church of Hong Kong Grace Youth Camp (ELCHK-GYC):
  樊文韜先生 ( 項目經理) Mr. FAN, Frankie Man Tao (Coordinator)
  陳子恒先生 ( 館長) and Mr. CHAN, Ric Tsz Hang (Curator)
方濟會 The Order of Friars Minor (OFM):
  伍維烈修士 Brother NG, William Wei Lit
周慧泉教授 Prof. ZHOU, Mary Huiquan
Prof. Ian Morley
Prof. Jeremy Yellen

研究員( 按姓氏字母順序排列) Researchers (in alphabetical order according to the surname)
陳慧瑋博士 Dr. CHEN, Huiwei
盧思宇小姐 Ms. LO, Danas Sze Yu
楊子雋先生 Mr. YEUNG, Tsz Chun
竺佳庚先生 Mr. ZHU, Jiageng


設計師 Designer
楊子雋先生 Mr. YEUNG, Tsz Chun

此項目由保育歷史建築基金資助

This project is funded by the Built Heritage Conservation Fund

©2020 by Institute of Future Cities, The Chinese University of Hong Kong